Onion Soup

I never really liked onions. Maybe it’s because onions always makes me cry. I don’t like to cry, probably because I’m the ugliest crier ever, it’s like I loose all control over my face. But when it comes to making onion soup I gladly make an exception. If you plan to make this recipe prepare to cry your eyes out because you have to thinly slice at least 10 onions, but in the end, after you’ve finished two bowls of soup topped with crunchy cheese croutons, you will cry of happiness… I guarantee it.

Ingredients

Serves 4

for the soup
– 1 kg onions
– 60 gr butter
– 2 tbsp thyme
– 3 tbsp dry sherry
– two beef stock cubes (makes 1,5 litre of stock)

for the croutons
– 1 baguette
– 1 garlic clove
– olive oil
– 100 gr Gruyère cheese

How to

1. Thinly slice the onions.
2. Pick the leaves of the thyme stalks.
3. Melt the butter in a large pan over medium high heat and cook the onion and the thyme. Cook for about 10 minutes or until the onion is softened. You don’t want to brown the onion yet!
4. After the onions are softened increase the heat and cook the onions until they developed a golden brown color.
5. Add the dry sherry and let the alcohol evaporate. This will take about 3 minutes.
6. Let the bouillon cubes dissolve in 1.5 litres of water.
7. Add the beef stock to the caramelised onions. Let the soup simmer for at least 15 minutes.
8. Slice the baguette. Drizzle the baguette with a little bit of olive oil Toast the baguette in the oven. After 5 minutes, take the toasted baguette slices and rub each peace with the garlic.
9. Grate the gruyère cheese.
10. Top each baguette slice generously with the cheese. Put the slices back into the oven and bake until the cheese is melted. Serve the soup with the croutons on top.

It’s been a while since my last blog post. Totally my bad. From now on I will post one blogpost a week.
Stay tuned for a new recipe every Sunday!

Leave a comment